Casting on

There is snow here.  Again, still, whatever.  With one notable exception (December 31st) it’s been colder than normal and snowier than normal for the past month and a half.  Don’t get me wrong, I like a pretty blanket of the white stuff at the appropriate time as much as anyone, but it’s beginning to weigh me down and I could use some warmish sunshine.

But being a knitter, my self defense seems to be grabbing wool and starting a new project.  My last sock project took forever – they were nice but the pattern didn’t grow as fast as some, and my dedication to knitting projects has never exactly been firm.  So back I’ve gone to the monkey pattern.

Wow – this photo makes the yarn look red, white, and blue.  In real life, it’s coral, purple, and lavender.  The yarn is by Shelridge Farm in Canada which is the original yarn used by Cookie A. for her pattern.  Of course this is the no-purl version of the monkeys and it goes by so fast.  Very instant gratification-y which is just what I need. And I’m magic looping it because even though dpns would be comforting right now, I can’t seem to motivate myself to get up and find 5 of them in the correct size.

My other entertainment at the moment is the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher.  Sci-Fi action/humor and as always, I’m listening rather than reading.  When your hobbies require your hands and eyes, books are difficult.  These are read by the the amazing James Marsters who is best known as Spike from Buffy the Vampire Slayer.  I’ve just finished #9 and will embark upon Small Favor tomorrow.  There’s something about a good series – not only do the plots grab you, but over the course of a number of books, the characters become familiar and like friends. You’re sad when the series is over because you won’t be spending time with them anymore.  Finding a great new series with lots of books is pure gold.  Number 13 in this series is scheduled to be released in April.  I’m sure I’ll be through the rest of these long before then.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Casting on

  1. Karen says:

    Your sock looks fantastic! I’m glad to see you knitting. The no purl monkey socks are the fastest socks I’ve ever knit.
    I totally agree with being sad when a good book ends. I miss the people I’ve sent my time with but love when there is another book on the horizon.
    I have never listened to a book on tape. I know, crazy! One of these days I’ll give it a try but I love the feel of a book in my hands.

  2. Donna says:

    I want to watch you do the heels, so I can get on with my Skyp socks 🙂 I love the pattern and the colors sound beautiful for your new ones!

Leave a Reply

