3rd Time’s the Charm

I’m not sure if it’s my German heritage or what, but I really enjoy food. That may mean I’m destined to be somewhat plump forever.  But in that vein of thought, here’s my dinner this evening:

I have no delusions that this is authentic asian cuisine.  Oh no.  My dear friend J once took me across the bridge from Detroit into Windsor where I had lemon chicken that haunts me to this day.  There’s no use ordering it anywhere else, nothing can compare. I should probably confess a particular fondness for egg rolls, and yes, there’s fried rice in that container in the background.  There’s enough that I’ll be eating this for a few days…

There’s been quite a bit of free time this week as I’ve taken some much needed vacation. The nightly headaches really don’t seem necessary though.  But I’ve been doing quite a bit of knitting.  I joined the Socktopus knitalong on Ravelry. The first pattern is the cover sock, Kwalla. It’s got a 6-stitch cable and I’ve got to say that crossing that many stitches on a sock is pretty extreme.  The suckage around the leg makes getting the right fit kind of tough.

This is version 3.0.  The first one had a yarn malfunction – there were manufacturing issues that make it impossible to use. (and yes, I’ve notified the company but they don’t seem able to respond with the holidays and all…)  Version 2 was in a yarn that, while still fingering weight, was a much finer yarn and quite splitty.  Made manipulating cables a trial.  Pictured above is my final try. If this doesn’t work out, I’m quitting until the next pattern.  I’m not thrilled with the color – it’s a red with orange overtones and then odd areas where the pigment has separated out and left purplish splotches. Whatever, I don’t care much anymore.  Just want to get these done.

I may have knit a completely unrelated sock between quitting on version 2 and casting on version 3.  I’ll save that photo for the finished pair.

And carving? Nope. My inspiration seems to have evaporated for now. I think I need a fun day of finds to help get my letterboxing mojo back.

So that’s what I’ve been up to this week.  I hope everyone is having a nice holiday season and a happy start to the new year.  I’ll leave you with my fortune from the cookie:

Keep a cool head and bide your time: a chance is bound to come.

This entry was posted in Knitting, Randomness. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3rd Time’s the Charm

  1. Karen says:

    I was hungry before I saw that photo. Now I’m craving Chinese food. Enjoy!
    The sock looks great. Hopefully this time all goes well.

  2. Jackie says:

    Dude, you and that lemon chicken.

    Good luck with the sock. I’ve had a resurgence of my knitting mojo and re-re-organized my stash, but I haven’t found the right project to finish. A lot of false starts.

    Currently on hiatus in a warmer climate. I won’t mention the food.

Leave a Reply

